Handle with care
UPO 2: I wish I was there
UPO 2 : I wish I was there - 45 €

Book sent within 24 hours. Free shipping in Europe.

A very special object, fragile and  powerful, with the ability to be continuously reinvented by the reader… Photographs from Xenia Naselou are randomly inserted into the UPO, the infinite crashes between text and images are a unique reading experience. Handle with care.

HOW DO WE GOT THERE?

When we created the first UPO we thought we would be spoilt for choice the next time. In the event we fell into a benign trap: a UPO is a real brain-teaser! So, we searched. We thought that we had found a really fine photographic project, right there, next to us, on the banks of the Seine. Then we hit on the idea for UPO 2, virtually as you have it before you today: about thirty photos inserted randomly over double-page spreads. Thus each of the UPOs is unique and the photographs take pride of place. A fine dark river crosses each of the double pages, sensual and sombre, printed on something evoking bible paper. Meanwhile the texts – whether they are in essay or poetic form – are short and sober, confined to the margins, cut into pieces in order to be better appreciated. However, the photographer wasn’t keen on our dark river, she found it too omnipresent, too dark, too strong. So, as we were caught by this river, we reversed the initial idea: instead of creating a graphic design to be an accompaniment to an artistic project, we set off on a search for photographs which would complement the magnetic and unwedded design of Rejane Dal Bello.

Today, sadly, many subjects are in tune with the theme of a dark river. Xenia Naselou is a photographer born in 1989, and she lives in Athens. Xenia uses her camera to observe the people, places and things which she loves. Xenia was getting ready to go to the Greek island of Lesbos, to photograph refugees. We helped her modestly and together we created this UPO, a conjoining of serendipities. I am proud of having kept my promise to Rejane Dal Bello: her dark river has been published; and I’m bowled over by the power of these elements brought together almost by chance. We all need to reach out to touch these traces of human misery and to handle them with care, like a form of extraordinary punishment. I am counting on all of you to make this fact known; because we need it.

Kind regards,
Elodie Boyer

UPO 2 presented above is photographed by Melissa Duarte.

UPO 2 : I wish I was there - 45 €

AUTHORS

Xenia Naselou is a photographer, she is born in Athens in 1989. Rejane Dal Bello is a highly respected graphic designer. Frédric Lambert is a Professor in Information and Communication Sciences in Paris. Jean Segui is a writer, he enjoys writing on demand. Elodie Boyer has produced this UPO.

DESCRIPTION

Unidentified Paper Object
French/English
180 printed pages
+ 32 loose photographs
(3 formats)
randomly inserted
in the printed matter
Format: 23 x 32,5 cm
Design: Rejane Dal Bello
Print run: 500 copies
Made in The Netherlands
Publication: December 2017
Price : 45€
Sent within 24 hours
Free delivery in Europe
Contribution to shipment
outside Europe: 10 €
ISBN : 979-10-96939-01-5

Handle with care
UPO 2: J'aimerais être là

Livre expédié sous 24 heures. Frais de port offerts (Europe).

« Déconcertant » — « culotté » — « puissant » — « bouleversant » — « comme une gifle qui fait pleurer… ». L’UPO 2 présente les photographies délicates de Xenia Naselou. C’est un objet très particulier, à la fois fragile et fort. Le carambolage texte image sans cesse renouvelé et réinventé par le lecteur est une expérience unique en son genre. Handle with care.

« Un gilet de sauvetage abandonné au pied d’un arbre, un enfant mort sur la plage, des campements sous le métro aérien… La plupart du temps, on ferme les yeux. Pas cette fois. L’objet graphique non-identifié des Editions Non Standard va nous aider à les garder bien ouverts » […] Xavier de Jarcy, Télérama. Lire la suite.

COMMENT NOUS EN SOMMES ARRIVÉS LÀ ?

Quand nous avons créé le premier UPO, nous pensions que l’avenir nous offrirait l’embarras du choix. En réalité, nous sommes tombés dans un heureux piège : un UPO est un casse-tête ! Nous avons donc cherché. Nous pensions avoir trouvé un très beau projet photographique, là, tout près, sur les bords de Seine. Alors nous avons conçu l’UPO 2, presque comme vous l’avez sous les yeux aujourd’hui. Une trentaine de photographies insérées de manière aléatoire dans les doubles pages. Ainsi, chaque UPO est unique et les photographies sont en majesté. Une belle rivière noire traverse chaque double page, sensuelle et sombre, imprimée sur un papier simili bible ; la rivière s’agite et embarque tout sur son passage, y compris la typographie, tandis que les textes – qu’ils soient essai ou poème – sont sobres et petits, dispersés à la marge, découpés en morceaux, pour apprécier toute leur saveur. Mais voilà, coup de théâtre, la photographe n’a pas voulu de notre rivière noire. Trop présente, trop sombre, trop en lutte avec son travail. Comme nous étions aimantés par cette rivière, nous avons fait l’inverse : au lieu de créer du design graphique pour accompagner un projet artistique, nous sommes partis à la recherche de photographies qui pourraient fonctionner avec le design de Rejane Dal Bello, magnétique et orphelin.

Aujourd’hui, tristement, de nombreux sujets s’accordent avec une rivière noire. Xenia Naselou est une photographe née en 1989, elle vit à Athènes. Xenia utilise son appareil photo pour observer les gens, les lieux et les choses qu’elle aime. Xenia s’apprêtait à aller sur l’Île de Lesbos en Grèce pour photographier les réfugiés. Nous l’avons soutenue modestement, et ensemble nous avons créé cet UPO, comme un croisement de hasards. Je suis fière d’avoir tenu ma promesse envers Rejane Dal Bello : sa rivière noire est publiée, et je suis bouleversée par la puissance de ces éléments conjugués. Nous devons tous toucher ces traces de misère humaine et les manipuler avec précaution, comme une extraordinaire punition. Je compte sur chacun d’entre vous pour le faire savoir, nous en avons besoin.

Bien à vous,
Elodie Boyer

L’UPO 2 est photographié par Melissa Duarte.

UPO 2 : I wish I was there - 45 €

AUTEURS

Xenia Naselou est photographe, elle est née à Athènes en 1989. Rejane Dal Bello est un designer graphique reconnu sur la scène internationale. Frédéric Lambert est Professeur en Sciences de l’Information et de la Communication. Jean Segui est un écrivain qui aime écrire "à la commande". Elodie Boyer a orchestré cet UPO.

DESCRIPTION

Objet Papier Non Identifié
Bilingue FR/EN
180 pages imprimées
+ 32 photos (3 formats)
insérées au hasard
Format : 23 x 32,5 cm
Design : Rejane Dal Bello
Tirage : 500 exemplaires
Fabriqué aux Pays-Bas
Parution : Décembre 2017
Prix : 45€
UPO expédié sous 24 heures
Frais de port offerts en Europe
(Lettre Prioritaire)
Participation au frais de port
hors Europe : forfait 10 €
ISBN : 979-10-96939-01-5