Colours on the beach

Book sent within 24 hours. Free shipping in Europe.

This book retraces, like a walk through time and space, the various stages which led to the creation of Colours on the Beach by Karel Martens, a work completed in 2017 as part of the event A Summer in Le Havre. It is a tribute to the beach of Le Havre as well as to the motto: united in diversity. It’s an authentic collection of treasures and of current and future visual archive material. Colours on the Beach is a unique record of today’s Le Havre.

BOOK STRUCTURE

The book Colours on the beach is in French and in English. It is divided into four parts. The first part displays the history of the beach and its cabins from 1830 to 1980 through a collection of archive images. The second part shows the beach with white cabins as well as the key pieces of Karel Martens concept for his project Colours on the beach. The third part is dedicated to the altlas of colours and stripes, as well as the secret they hide. The fourth part shows photographs of the project, from its birth on the beach in March 2017, to its growth it April and May, and its final version.

Couleurs sur la plage - 33 €

THE AUTHORS

Karel Martens, designer-artist ; Élodie Boyer, publisher ; Pierre-Yves Cachard, director of the University Library of Le Havre ; Laurence Le Cieux, director of the Patrimoine Culturel (Cultural Heritage) of the City of Le Havre ; Jean Segui, writer, administrator of Éditions Non Standard ; Stefan Balev, computer science researcher at LITIS, teacher at the University of Le Havre Normandie and maker at La Faironnerie ABC.

DESCRIPTION

Title : Colours on the beach
French/ English
Translation into English by Nigel Forrest
Design: Karel Martens and Aagje Martens
192 pages + Dust cover
Format: 170 x 240 mm
Print run: 2.500 copies
Made in The Netherlands
Date of publication: July 14, 2017
Price: 33 €
Shipment within 24 hours
Free shipping in Europe (Priority)
Contribution to shipment cost
outside Europe: 10 €
ISBN : 979-1-096-9390-0-8

Couleurs sur la plage

Livre expédié sous 24 heures. Frais de port offerts (Europe).
Disponible le 14 juillet 2017.

Ce livre retrace, à la manière d’une promenade dans le temps et l’espace, les différentes étapes qui ont conduit à la création de l’oeuvre de Karel Martens Couleurs sur la plage, réalisée en 2017 dans le cadre de la manifestation Un été au Havre. Véritable collection de trésors, d’images d’archives actuelles et futures, cet ouvrage rend hommage à la plage du Havre, à l’unité et à la diversité. Couleurs sur la plage est un souvenir du présent.

STRUCTURE DU LIVRE

Le livre Couleurs sur la plage est en Français et en Anglais, il est divisé en quatre parties. La première partie retrace l’histoire de la plage du Havre et de ses cabanes de 1830 à 1980 à travers une collection d’images d’archive. La deuxième partie montre la plage avec ses cabanes blanches et rassemble les pièces maîtresse du concept de Karel Martens pour son projet Couleurs sur la plage. La troisième partie présente l’atlas des couleurs et des rayures, ainsi que le secret qu’elles cachent en elles. La quatrième partie présente des photos de l’oeuvre, de sa naissance sur la plage en mars 2017, sa croissance en avril et mail 2017 jusqu’à sa version finale.

Couleurs sur la plage - 33 €

LES AUTEURS

Karel Martens, designer-artiste ; Élodie Boyer, éditrice ; Pierre-Yves Cachard, directeur de la Bibliothèque Universitaire du Havre ; Laurence Le Cieux, Directrice du Patrimoine Culturel de la Ville du Havre ; Jean Segui, écrivain, administrateur des Éditions Non Standard ; Stefan Balev, chercheur en informatique au LITIS, enseignant à l'Université Le Havre Normandie, bricolicien à la Faironnerie ABC.

DESCRIPTION

Titre : Couleurs sur la plage
Français/ Anglais
Traduction en anglais par Nigel Forrest
Design : Karel Martens assisté de Aagje Martens
192 pages + jaquette
Format : 170 x 240 mm
Tirage : 2.500 exemplaires
Fabriqué aux Pays-Bas
Parution : 14/07/2017
Prix : 33 €
Livre expédié sous 24 heures
Frais de port offerts en Europe
(Lettre Prioritaire)
Participation au frais de port
hors Europe : forfait 10 €
ISBN : 979-1-096-9390-0-8